Jump-Gate Forum Index Jump-Gate
Discussion forums
REGISTER and get our Newsletter (no spam)
and additional services which we will launch soon

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Beginning French

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Jump-Gate Forum Index -> French Language
View previous topic :: View next topic  
lumengentleman

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:23 pm    Post subject: Beginning French Reply with quote

I am just beginning to learn the French language; my goal is primarily to learn the language for "reading knowledge."

If anyone would be willing to help tutor me, I would greatly appreciate the help.

--Jake
spicey3531

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 11:23 pm    Post subject: Me to Reply with quote

I would also like somebody to help me to.
Julien

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can answer questions
p0et

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 2:19 pm    Post subject: best method? Reply with quote

I'm also wanting to get to a reading level in French and not sure what the best method is of home study. What are some good books/CDs to use, which to avoid? I assume with reading, I'd mainly be concentrating on grammar and vocab.

Thanks.
cookiegirl

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ive always dreamt of learning French and now im gonna take every opportunity i get... Very Happy thanks for the site and forum Smile Sad but what should i start with?
Julien

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cookiegirl wrote:
but what should i start with?

The beginning.

Seriously, I think it's possible to improve his French by working on his own if you've learnt the basics with a teacher.